top of page

Pineapples

Certain fruits suck.

Yeah.

I said it.

They do.

And for me, one of them is...pineapples.

I'm sorry SpongeBob.

I tried.

 

I remember the first time I tried a pineapple.

It was back in first grade, when my mom gave me cut up pineapples for lunch.

My tongue itched for days after that experience.

I was scratching my tongue all the time, in class, during recess, in the car, in church, everywhere.

My parents, teachers, and even some of my friends got annoyed when I started talking with my tongue hanging out of my mouth, desperate for exposure to some fresh air to alleviate the itch.

That was my first bad experience with pineapples.

 

My second experience with pineapples was around fifth grade, when my dad thought he was slick by putting pineapple pieces in my smoothie.

Just because I can't see it, dad, doesn't mean I can't taste it.

The sweet, tangy flavor hit my tongue that fateful day, and I suffered the infamous "pineapple curse," as I had so cleverly dubbed it.

My tongue sat in my mouth as an inflamed, swelling blob, with an itch to top off my misery.

INTERMISSION: For those of you wondering, no, I'm not allergic to pineapples. Don't worry, I asked my doctor. But I am allergic to alligator meat. But that's a story for another time. Now back to the topic at hand.

There was no way I could look at a real pineapple from that day on; I say real because I'd rather not deprive myself of binging on SpongeBob just because I couldn't get over looking at a pineapple.

I'm not that pathetic, okay?

But that was the last time that I have ever tasted a pineapple (so far).

And I plan on never doing so again.

Ever.

But who knows? I've heard people have hated certain foods, but then they later ended up loving them.

And I might just be one of them.

*shrugs*

We'll have to wait and see if my mind changes.

But I think that would require me to taste a pineapple, and that's something I'd rather hold off on.

Unless my dad slips me another pineapple smoothie.

 

Feel free to vote, comment, or message me on your thoughts! Thank you for reading, and stay tuned for next Saturday's blog!

bottom of page